Inside Page Baner

Audi Sports Awards call for nominations to recognise Logan’s achievers

Published: 29 July 2016

Audi Sports Awards call for nominations to recognise Logan’s achievers
Logan legend Corey Parker has announced his retirement from the NRL at the end of the 2016 season.

Logan boosts many home-grown sporting icons including: Cameron Smith, Corey Parker, Alex Leapai, Robbie McEwen, Shannon O’Connell, Jodie Henry, Michael Voss and Israel Folau.

All are nationally recognised, but there are many more up and coming sporting stars, teams and people who work behind the scenes who deserve to be recognised for their outstanding achievements and contributions.

Councillor Steve Swenson, Chairperson of the Loan City Council’s Sports and Community Services Committee said the awards were a great way for the community to foster a sense of achievement for teams and individuals and to attract the attention of scouts from all codes of sports.

“We have a lot to be proud of when it comes to our sporting achievements and we often find that our home grown sports starts are claimed by another city when they become well known,” he said.

“The 2016 Audi Sports Awards provide Logan City with the opportunity to formally recognise our many outstanding sporting talents as well as the coaches, managers and volunteers who help them compete at their highest level.

“We’re looking to raise the profile of sports and sporting achievement in Logan City even further and to become recognised outside of south east Queensland for the enormous pool of talent we have here.”

The nomination categories are:
* Young Sportsperson Female (13-18yrs)
* Young Sportsperson Male (13-18yrs)
* Sportswoman/Sportsman/Sports Veteran (40+ years)
* Elite Athlete with a Disability
* Sports Official
* Sports Administration
* Sports Coach
* Sports Team of the Year
* Sports Event of the Year; and
* Sports Organisation.
Nominations close on Friday 26 August and the celebration of our local sporting heroes will take place at an Awards Dinner on the evening of Thursday 6 October, at Logan Metro Sports Centre.

To make a nomination go to