Inside Page Baner

New safety cameras on the way for the City of Logan

Published: 5 June 2015

New safety cameras on the way for the City of Logan
Mayor Pam Parker and Safe City Advisory Committee Chairperson, Councillor Russell Lutton, in the new monitoring room.

The next phase of Logan's state-of-the-art safety camera program will be unveiled over the coming months, with 25 new cameras funded under a grant from the Australian Government to be installed across the city by September.

The new cameras come on the heels of the opening of a new $1.3 million safety camera monitoring room in March, which highlighted Logan City Council's continued commitment to and investment in community safety.

Mayor Pam Parker said the Federal Government had committed $1.4 million for Council to install the digital CCTV cameras across the city as part of the Logan Safety Camera Program. An additional camera, funded by the Division 11 Divisional Infrastructure Capital Improvement Program, will also be installed at Jimboomba Park, bringing the total to 26 new cameras.

"We are ahead of the game with our new monitoring room, which streams a feed directly to local police communication rooms to enable police to respond to and manage incidents while in progress, allowing them to be more effective in keeping our neighbourhoods safe," she said.

"When we started this program in 2001, we monitored nine cameras; over the past 14 years the growth of the network has expanded to monitor more than 300 cameras.

"We have first-class systems in place. And as I always say, you have nothing to be concerned about if you are doing the right thing."

Deputy Mayor and Safe City Advisory Committee Chairperson, Councillor Russell Lutton, said the locations were finalised in consultation with Queensland Police Service.

"We expect the cameras to be installed and commissioned by September this year," he said.

"These cameras wouldn't have been possible without the support of the Federal Government, and I'd like to express our thanks for the funding, which will provide cameras in the electorates of Forde, Rankin and Wright.

"Our close relationships with police and Queensland Rail means we can enable rapid responses to criminal activities both day and night, and these new cameras will play a key role in deterring crime and helping police identify and apprehend offenders."

The cameras will be installed at the following locations across the city:

DivisionNumber of camerasLocations
Divison 1TwoUnderwood Park, Priestdale (two cameras)
Division 5Four

cnr Haig and Monash roads, Loganlea

cnr Chambers Flat Rd and Kingston Rd, Waterford West

cnr Chambers Flat Rd and Bourke St, Waterford West 

cnr Barklya Pl and Brigalow St, Marsden 

Division 6Three

cnr Ellerslie Rd and University Dr, Meadowbrook

Logan Hospital, Armstrong Rd, Meadowbrook

Loganlea TAFE, Armstrong Rd, Meadowbrook 

Division 7OneGreenbank Recreation Reserve, Greenbank
Division 10OneShailer Pioneer Park, Harley St, Shailer Park
Division 11Nine

cnr Mt Lindesay Hwy and Cusack Lane, Jimboomba

Jimboomba Park, Jimboomba (two cameras - one funded by divisional funding)

cnr Homestead Dr and Bushman Dr, Flagstone 

Coachwood Park, Flagstone 

cnr Homestead Dr and Poinciana Dr, Flagstone 

Parkside Dr, Flagstone 

Teviot Downs Park, New Beith 

Tully Park, North Maclean 

Division 12Six

George St, Beenleigh

cnr Alamein and Lae St, Beenleigh

cnr Alamein and Main streets, Beenleigh 

Doug Larsen Park, Boundary St, Beenleigh 

Beenleigh Town Square, Beenleigh (two cameras)