Ashley our top athlete

Published: 15 October 2018

Ashley our top athlete

Decathlete Ashley Moloney has been voted the City of Logan's Sportsperson of the Year.

He received the coveted awards for an outstanding year of achievement that culminated in winning Gold at the Under 20 World Championship in Finland.

He was one of 12 winners announced at the Audi Centre Springwood City of Logan Sports Awards at the Logan Metro Sports & Events Centre on Saturday night.

City of Logan Acting Mayor Cherie Dalley said Ashley and all the other winners have joined a rich history of sporting achievement in Logan.

“For a city of 319,000 people Logan has produced an impressive number of gifted sportspeople,” Cr Dalley said.

“And it’s not just the athletes who are household names, throughout the city there are many people toiling away without recognition at their chosen sport.

“Congratulations to Ashley and all the winners – I have no doubt I’ll be hearing about many of you in the future.”

Special guest, champion boxer Danny Green, entertained the crowd with stories about his fighting days and the battles he fought outside the ring.

Previous winners of the City of Logan Sportsperson of the Year Award include 100m runner Trae ‘Quadzilla’ Williams, former Broncos skipper Corey Parker and Australian rugby international Israel Folau.

2018 Sports Awards winners


Winner Name


Young Sportswoman

Tara Billington

Haidong Gumdo

Young Sportsman

Ashley Moloney

Track and Field

Elite Athlete with a Disability

Andre Rivet

Shot put, Discuss & Javelin


Tallisha Harden

Women's Rugby League


Clay Waterman

Elite Men's Boxing

Sports Official

Val Cramp

Inline Speed Skating

Sports Organisation

Multicultural Sports Club

Various sporting programs

Sports Team

TRL Beenleigh

Touch Rugby League

Sports Event of the Year

Jimboomba Supercross


Master Sportsperson

Marion Hermitage


Sports Coach

Margaret Clough

Artistic Roller Sports

Sports Administrator

Marion Young


Sportsperson of the Year

Ashley Moloney

Track and Field

Judges Choice

Toni Wardlaw


Judges Choice

Gary Young