Inside Page Baner

25 new CCTV cameras on track

Published: 9 December 2014

25 new CCTV cameras on track

Twenty-five new CCTV cameras planned for the City of Logan are on track to be operating by July next year.

Funded by $1.4m from the Federal Government's Safer Streets Programme, the cameras will be shared across eight suburbs, expanding the city's safety camera network.

Logan City Council is now finalising locations for the 25 new cameras in Beenleigh, Greater Flagstone, Jimboomba, Loganlea, Marsden, Priestdale, Shailer Park and Waterford West.

Construction is expected to begin in March 2015 and be completed by July 2015. The locations have been determined by Council in partnership with the Queensland Police Service, a key partner in the City of Logan's safety camera program.

The City of Logan's safety camera network continues to be highly effective, operating 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

Logan Safety City Advisory Committee Chair, Councillor Russell Lutton, said the expanded network was good news for the community.

"Our city is acknowledged as a leader in the field of public space CCTV and the additional cameras funded through the Safer Streets Programme ensures the network will become even more effective," Councillor Lutton said.

"Council again thanks the Federal Government for the investment in our city, and we continue to work closely with our local police to help make Logan a safe and welcoming place."

The safety camera network, operating in key locations across the city for more than a decade, helps reduce crime and create safer public places and spaces for the community.

The network expansion is part of the Federal Government and Council's commitment to addressing safety issues through the Logan: City of Choice Two-Year Action Plan 2013-2015.