Statistics and facts

Logan is one of the largest and fastest growing cities in Australia. Logan City Council, a progressive leader in local government, provides community services and facilities to its residents.

About Logan City:

State electorates in Logan:

In 2017 the Electoral Commission of Queensland reviewed the state electoral boundaries. The redistributed boundaries became effective on 29 October 2017 and will remain in place until the next state redistribution. Logan City now consists of the following state electorates:

  • Springwood
  • Waterford
  • Woodridge
  • Logan
  • Algester
  • Jordan
  • Macalister
  • Stretton
  • Scenic Rim
  • Coomera

Federal electorates in Logan:

  • Forde
  • Rankin
  • Wright

Our population

For information on Logan’s community profile, visit Logan City Council's website

Our economy

For information on our economy, visit Logan Office of Economic Development Economic Profile.

About Logan City Council

General information

  • 2023/2024 budget: $920 million
  • About $7.48 billion in assets
  • 135,000 rateable properties
  • 1,700 employees, including full-time, part-time, casual and temporary employees

What we provide for the community


  • sealed roads and unsealed roads
  • bikeways
  • footpaths
  • stormwater pipe and culvert network
  • water mains water pump stations and reservoir sites
  • sewer mains, wastewater pump stations and wastewater treatment plants
  • 942 parks
  • Waste services. The Browns Plains landfill also produces enough energy from its gas-powered cogeneration plant to power approximately 2,000 homes.

Community facilities

  • Six aquatic centres
  • Three indoor sports centres and 116 sporting facilities
  • Eight community venues
  • Nine libraries
  • One art gallery
  • Two entertainment venues
  • 18 council-owned community centres
  • seven cemeteries
  • Twelve immunisation clinics

Logan City Council currently has sister city, economic and friendship agreements with the following cities in China, Japan and Taiwan:

  • Hirakata City, Japan
  • Shibukawa City, Japan
  • Suzhou City, China
  • Taoyuan City, Taiwan
  • Cincinnati, USA