Eat Safe Logan

Eat Safe Logan is an educational program designed to help food businesses comply with food safety laws and to achieve the highest standards in food safety.

Food businesses are rated from zero to five stars. Those who have achieved three stars and above have met legislative requirements for compliance with the Food Act 2006, the Food Safety Standards and good management practices.

The stars do not relate to the quality of food served or customer service provided.

Why have we introduced Eat Safe Logan?

Eat Safe Logan helps consumers choose restaurants and other food businesses that have good food safety and hygiene practices.

Benefits include:

  • recognition and rewards for food businesses that follow food safety laws and employ good management practices within their businesses
  • higher performing businesses receive fewer inspections, allowing our officers more time to work with poor performers
  • higher performers receive discounts on their annual licence fee.
  • the display of a score provides free marketing opportunities for a business, including a free listing on the Logan City Council website.
  • consumers have choice when selecting a place to eat and have confidence in that choice.

Do all food businesses get inspected?

Yes, all food business that need a licence under the Food Act 2006 are inspected regularly by Council officers, but food businesses can choose if they would like to display their star rating.

What does Council look for when inspecting food businesses?

We inspect businesses to make sure they comply with the Food Act 2006, Food Safety Standards and good management practices.

These inspections include looking at:

  • staff skills and knowledge
  • personal hygiene of staff
  • equipment and fittings, cleanliness and maintenance
  • food storage, processing, preparation and packaging practices.

Eat Safe Logan - Forms, tools, and resources (available in English, Vietnamese and Traditional Chinese).

Can the ratings change?

Yes. We can change a food safety star rating at any time based on compliance.

Three, four or five star rated businesses will not require as many inspections as those who are performing poorly.

Where can I see the ratings?

Food businesses can display their star rating at their premises (for example, at the front door or cash register), but this is voluntary.

Businesses rating three stars or higher can choose to be listed on our website. Please see Eat Safe Logan star ratings for more information.

What do the Star Ratings Mean?

Excellent food safety - Five stars

The business demonstrates full compliance with the Food Act 2006 and overall excellent food safety management practices.

Very good food safety - Four stars

The business demonstrates a high level of compliance with the Food Act 2006 and very good food safety management practices.

Good food safety - Three stars

The business demonstrates a high level of compliance with the Food Act 2006 and overall good food safety management practices.

Poor performer - Two stars

Low level of compliance with the Food Act 2006 with more effort required.

Non-compliant performer – No / zero stars

A general failure to comply with the Food Act 2006 with major effort required to rectify issues.

The star ratings apply to food safety and hygiene of the food preparation practices, not the quality of food or customer service provided. If you have any complaints about the quality of food or customer service, you can raise them directly with the food business.

To report food hygiene and safety issues, please call us on 07 3412 3412.