We issue fines for things like:

  • illegal parking
  • littering
  • animal infringements
  • not complying with local laws.

We use penalty units to calculate fines. In Queensland the current value of one penalty unit (for 2020 / 2021) is $133.45.

Each type of offence attracts a number of penalty units (e.g. if you park in a disabled parking bay this attracts two penalty units – 2 penalty units x $133.45 = $266.90, rounded down to $266).

The State Treasurer reviews penalty units yearly.

For more information on the parking rules that apply in Queensland, please visit Department of Transport and Main Roads.